Never a Dull Moment!

Hi, everyone! We just completed week one of summer camps at the Phoenix Theatre for Children. This week, we worked with a group of 6-8 year olds and a group of 9-13 year olds at camps titled, “Scenes from the Big Screen” and “Movie Creation Camp.” The 6 to 8 year olds got to film scenes from well known children’s movies and the 9 to 13 year olds actually got to create their own movies- from the idea to the script to costumes and props to the actually filming and then assisting with editing.

One thing that has impressed me so much is the level at which I have been able to dig into the organization and the amount of information the staff has let me b privy to. As some of my fellow “fellows” have talked about in previous blog entries, I feel right at home at the Phoenix Theatre for children and that can definitely be attributed to the openness of the staff and their willingness and encouragement to participate in all of the different aspects of their work.

The overarching task for this summer that has been given to me is to help the Phoenix Theatre to identify what marketing tactics are working for them as far as getting students into camps and to make suggestions as to a marketing plan for next year’s campaign as well as in years to come. As a part of this task, I have developed a survey to have parents fill out at the end of the week asking them questions about how they found out about the camp, why they chose the camp that they did, if they plan to return, and if they do not plan to return, why this is so. I am hoping that the responses I gain from this survey can help with next year’s camp planning process as well as boost camp attendance based on the ways people have identified that they learned about the camps.

Another goal I have for this summer is to boost this year’s attendance, by gaining new campers and getting current campers to return for further sessions. This week, I was able to contact and confirm six different Columbus organizations that are going to let us publicize our camps- something I am very excited about! Of course, this meant making 275 copies of brochures and then folding them- which also included walking two miles one day to the Phoenix’s other location to make the copies, only to find out that the original on red paper would make the copies have gray backgrounds. I decided on driving over the next day to try copying again, only to lock my keys in my car at a parking meter downtown (yay for AAA!). It’s fair to say that there has yet to be a dull moment in my work, and I am loving every minute of it!

Julia – Phoenix Theatre for Children

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

