Auf Wiedersehen

Today is my last day at the Phoenix Theatre for Children as a summer fellow.  Wait.  What?  It’s hard to believe that ten weeks have flown by so quickly.  Throughout my time with CATCO-Phoenix and the Columbus Foundation, I have learned so much about the organization itself, non-profits in general, and my own future career goals. 

From the beginning, CATCO-Phoenix made sure that I felt at home and like a part of their team.  And now, ten weeks later, I know that I will miss this place and these people when 4:30 today rolls around and my fellowship is complete.  However, I know that this will not be the last time I will see them.  I am already looking forward to seeing The Last Smoker of America, which will be a world-premiere show right here in Columbus from September 29- October 24.  (Yes, this is a shameless plug- tickets are on sale now.  Checkout www.lastsmokerinamerica.com for more info!)  This is a project that I have heard discussions about since I began my fellowship, and I am looking forward to seeing it come to fruition.

This fellowship has reminded me of why I became a theatre major and why I am passionate about the art.  Seeing children week after week come through the doors to have their lives touched by PTC is something I will never take for granted. 

In closing, I will leave you with something I wrote in my last reflection that still rings true today:  

I am so grateful for this entire experience.  I feel that I’ve made great connections and relationships, and will leave the Phoenix with a positive impact.  Compared to the alternative choices I could have made this summer, I definitely believe I chose well and I have really enjoyed this experience.  With just (a few hours)remaining, I am going to be sure to make the best of (them) and give back to the experience that has meant so much to me.

Auf Wiedersehen- which doesn’t mean just “good-bye,” but “until we see each other again”- and all the best to all of you!

Julia- CATCO-Phoenix

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

