Week 2: The Calm Before the Storm

All cliches aside, so far in my fellowship I have learned that the most important thing about working as part of a team is communication.

Without communication, important tasks fall to the backburner, new ideas are lost, and creativity is stifled.  Although I have only been at Jazz Arts Group for a short time, I already know that something JAG does very well is communication.  I had the opportunity to sit in on a staff meeting, and something I found exciting and refreshing was the exchange of information and ideas between the staff.  Myself and the interns even had the opportunity to speak about the projects we had been working on, and we were able to get some additional direction and input from staff members. 

Since I blogged last, I have been busy making preparations for the upcoming JazZoo! season.  For those who don’t know what JazZoo! is, it is a series of four Columbus Jazz Orchestra concerts presented by Jazz Arts Group in collaboration with The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium.  The concerts take place at Water’s Edge Events Park at the Zoo.  This season, we have an exciting variety of concerts for our audience to enjoy! 

So far, I have spent a lot of time organizing the customer table reservation data.  I have also been sending out packets of wristbands to those who reserved tables, as well as comparing and contrasting audience member reservations from years past.  I even got to help draft a letter that has gone out to those who reserved tables for the shows last year. 

I have also been spending some time brainstorming and investigating experiential enhancements for our guests to paricipate in at the concerts.  The JAG staff and and I have been working very hard to create a memorable and fun concert experience for our patrons. 

To find out what’s in store for this sixth season of JazZoo! visit http://www.jazzartsgroup.org/columbus-jazz-orchestra/jazzoo/!

– Janelle Myers – Fellow, Jazz Arts Group

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

