Week Three: Call and Response

I spent this morning over at the beautiful Carraige House at The Columbus Foundation.  A panel of professionals from The Columbus Foundation discussed the range of career paths in the non-profit realm with myself and the other fellows.  What I found most interesting was how each panel member took a unique journey that brought them to where they are now  in non-profit work.  Each person was from a different background and had their own personal and professional experiences that made them who they are today. 

This learning session made me think about what experiences in my own life have led me to be interested in non-profit work.  I think that my experience as a student and musician are what led me to pursue this career path.  I also was fortunate enough to be born in a time when there are degrees focused solely on arts administration- something that wasn’t always available even in very recent years.

Meanwhile, over at the the JAG office as the first JazZoo! show approaches, plans are in their final stages and the pieces of the puzzle start to come together.  It is an exciting process to observe and also to experience from the inside.

So far I have spent the majority of the third week of my fellowship communicating with patrons, guest arists, and co-workers.  I don’t think I’ve ever spent so much time on my e-mail account, but I like it and enjoy being included as part of the team. 

This week I have been contacted about everything from hotel arrangements, to food orders, to red carpets, and even stiltwalkers!  I never thought those things would be a part of a jazz concert, but as many in Columbus know, JAG puts on extraordinary concerts for our patrons, and we are working very hard to make them even better this season. 

Working with an arts organization truly defines the expression “roll with it” – and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

– Janelle, Fellow- Jazz Arts Group

Join Columbus Jazz Orchestra Artistic Director Byron Stripling at The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium for the sixth season of JazZoo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

