Half-Way Through the Fellowship

Time flies like an arrow. We are approaching the half-way mark of
my summer fellowship. My project at Tech Corps is entering the production
phase. My first “product” – Tech Corps Brand Identity Manual came out last week,
and next I will develop the Annual Report for fiscal year 2010-11.

Using my newly-learned skills with Photoshop I presented a more
well-designed draft of the Brand Identity Manual to the Tech Corps management.
I received their alignment on the proposed changes in the communication materials,
and program names; which will convey a better awareness about Tech Corps. Some
of these changes will require intervention from a professional designer, and I will
leave this work aside to move on with my other projects.

Tech Corps has not yet used an Annual Report as a marketing tool,
so, the need to produce a well-designed and informative Annual Report is part
of my plan. For years, people at Tech Corps; board, management, staff, and volunteers,
have produced many wonderful programs as they prepare students for the
high-tech era. However, one thing they need help with is recording these
accomplishments, celebrating their successes, and using these stories to promote
Tech Corps’ mission. I am excited, but also a little nervous, to work on this
task. I will be capturing the efforts of many people from the past and present
and I will do my best to present their achievements and accomplishments as
best I can. More importantly, I hope that this Annual Report will become
standard process for the coming years and people will continue to recognize
Tech Corps’ good work.

Tech Corps is a nonprofit agency. I believe my fellowship-internship at Tech Corps is providing me with intensive, hands-on
experience in marketing, much more than what I would have learned if I was working
with a for-profit organization. As a small organization with limited resources,
Tech Corps, like most nonprofits, needs help in a more end-to-end manner. The
management has given me freedom to pick and choose my projects and they have
counted on me to deliver the final product. I am developing multi-skills to
perform that end-to-end product and I am learning a new perspective about
marketing strategies for nonprofit organizations.

Summer is a busy time at Tech Corps. I have had to identify a way
to fit my work into the current operation. Sometimes I feel guilty of taking
away people time for my projects. I also have difficulty with proposing the most
feasible plan for Tech Corps considering their limited resources.

Yesterday at The Columbus Foundation, I learned about Strategic
Planning. I am thinking about a “game changing” strategy for engaging more
volunteers. I want to bring more help to Tech Corps. This will help with the
impact Tech Corps will have on the generations to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

