Week Ten: Conclusion

I was pleased and honored to be able to present about my fellowship experience on Friday, August 19th at The Columbus Foundation.  The room was full of members of the selection committee, employees from The Columbus Foundation, non-profit site supervisors, and of course the fellows.

At the luncheon, Ann, Alex, and myself spoke about our experiences in each of our respective fellowships.  It was very interesting to hear about different fellows’ experiences, and how they were both similar to, and different from my own.  Also, supervisors from Habitat for Humanity of Ohio and the Grange Insurance Audubon Center spoke about how their fellows, Matthew and Shelley, respectively, helped fill an important function in the mission of these organizations.

As far as the validity of my own experience, I could not have asked for a better one.  I have learned so much at Jazz Arts Group these past ten weeks, and met many inspiring, wonderful, and kind people.  I am certain I would not have had such a wonderful experience without each and every one of them.  I would like to send out a huge thank you to everyone at the Jazz Arts Group office, the Jazz Academy, the Columbus Jazz Orchestra, the Columbus Zoo, The Columbus Foundation, and of course the Columbus community itself for helping to make our work worthwhile.

As I am writing these words of thanks, I can’t help but feel a little like a musician writing the “thank you” portion of their liner notes for their newest album.  In a way, I feel as though this experience, and particularly the blog chronicling it, have been like an “album” of mine.  I hope that one day someone else might stumble across my words, and maybe it will inspire them to engage in the arts and perhaps even non-profit work.

Once again, thank you to everyone who has helped make this all possible.  I feel very fortunate and blessed to be chosen for such an amazing opportunity.  I will always cherish the experiences, memories, and learning opportunities!

– Janelle, Jazz Arts Group

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

