And so it begins…

Monday marked the first day of the 2012 Summer Fellowship Program, and I have to say I am incredibly excited! I’ll take this first post as an opportunity to introduce myself and the organization with which I will be working.

On graduation day!

My name is Melissa Papic, and I am a recent graduate of Ohio University, where my major area of study was Health Services Administration, with minors in Business Administration and German, and a Global Leadership Certificate. I graduated in March, and since then have been working at Ohio University’s Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs as a research assistant. Originally I am from Grove City, Ohio (just south of Columbus) and it is going to be a great summer at home, and most likely the last summer at here for a few years! I plan to make the most of this summer through the fellowship and through getting involved with community events.

I am honored to work as a fellow this summer, as I serve the Ohio Association of Second Harvest Foodbanks. The ‘Association’s’ mission is to assist Ohio’s 12 Feeding America foodbanks in providing food and other resources to people in need and to pursue areas of common interest for the benefit of people in need.

I have been charged with evaluating the Americorp VISTA SHARECorps Summer Associate Program, answering the question, What impact do VISTA volunteer have on summer feeding programs?. I am fortunate to have the guidance of mentors from the Voinovich School , giving me the opportunity to continue relationships with colleagues that I have worked with for the past year (didn’t have to say my ‘goodbyes’ just yet).

This first week has involved a lot of bringing myself up to speed on the research project. This has involved a lot of reading, organizing, discussing and THINKING! I was also able to visit four Summer Food Service Programs near Dayton, which was a great opportunity to see first hand where the Summer Associates are working this summer and how the programs are operated. On Wednesday, myself and the Ohio Association of Second Harvest Foodbanks’ Fellow were given research training by the Voinovich School, so that we could begin our projects effectively and have a scope of what the next nine weeks will require and entail.

I have to say that this is going to be a challenging, but incredibly rewarding summer. I am excited to rise to the challenge as I begin really delving into the research and producing a meaningful research product.

Until next time!

About Melissa Papic

Excited to work this summer as a Columbus Foundation Fellow, serving The Ohio Association of Foodbanks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

