Journalist tests her math skills

I did math yesterday. Yes, that is a feat worth celebrating. Know why? Because it hurt my brain, it gave me a fit of confusion that spread into my entire day by causing me to believe that it was Tuesday, not Wednesday, and because I actually did it right.

Oh thank you, thank you. No need for applause. I’m just you’re average journalist who doesn’t need to use her math skills more than four times a year. There is a reason why I declared journalism as my major, you know.

I’m bad at math. I don’t like it. I loathe, it in fact. I thank iPhone gods almost daily for granting me the gift of having a handheld calculator right on my smart phone. Otterbein, thank goodness, only requires journalism majors to take ONE math class. Yes! And in case you’re wondering, it was, by far, the easiest math class I have ever taken.

Now, I should probably enlighten you as to why the bad mathematician chose to put some math into her work day. Picture a girl, sitting in front of her work computer, surrounded by Post-It notes, paper clips, and loose papers, tucked back into her cube. That’s me: Post-It note girl.

Currently, I am smack-dab in the middle of working on the Guild’s annual report and their newsletter, News&Views. One of the Guild’s programs is being featured in both the annual report and the newsletter. This program is a very big deal as of late. In fact, there are no other programs that can be compared to it in Ohio.

Wilderness Bond is a theraptuic adventure program that focuses on at-risk teens and adults enrolled in drug and alcohol treatments.

The interventions focus on engaging clients through holistic approaches to develop positive coping and communication skills, self awareness, and problem solving skills. WB has found great success as one of Camp Mary Orton‘s many programs.

Unfortunately, starting in 2013, Wilderness Bond will lose most of it’s funding.

This is where my math played in. Linda asked that I create text to be used as a sidebar to go next to the article about WB. A call to action, so to speak. Then Linda gave me these numbers – clients served, hours served, and FTE – for WB to use in the call to action. 

In the year 2011 – 363 clients were served. Almost 8,000 hours were put in by 3.5 FTE.

Is that not incredible? I was trying to put a creative spin on those numbers, trying to find a way to make people say, “Wow. That’s amazing!” Then I realized 363 is one person a day for almost one year. So I figured, let’s say that WB staff (3.5 FTE) helped one person per day. That would mean that each individual got 22 hours of individualized attention. See what I mean? It’s got that “wow” factor. Definitely worth the pain of doing math.

While I have the math done, the wording is still up in the air. Who knew that the easiest part would be doing the math?

About Stephanie L. Parker

I am passionate about many things, the most important being graphic design, photography, and journalism. These three things are where my greatest strengths lie and I hope to, someday, impact the world positively with my growing skills.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journalist tests her math skills

  1. linhta7 says:

    Bah, math is also my worst enemy. I was lucky to also have a college that didn’t require extensive math education for their journalism program.

  2. Pingback: Journalist tests her math skills (TCF blog post 5) « Triple-Threat

Leave a Reply

