Insight from Community Leaders: Mr. Doug Kridler and Mr. Ty Marsh

When I reflect about my experience in The Columbus Foundation Summer Fellowship Program, having the opportunity to receive insight and advice from various leaders in the community that are involved in the nonprofit and private sectors has been extremely beneficial, especially as I think about the start of my career, with graduating in December. Moreover, I have learned and received a plethora of valuable information about career development. During the summer fellowship experience, I had the opportunity to meet community leaders, including Ty Marsh. Mr. Marsh is Mayor Coleman’s first Chief of Staff, former President and CEO of the Columbus Chamber of Commerce, and is currently the Executive Director of The Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio (SWACO). SWACO is the largest public landfill in the state of Ohio. In the meeting with Ty, I was excited to find out that he and Doug Kridler went to college together at the Ohio Wesleyan University and have remained friends since the mid 1970’s!

Ty Marsh and I.

Ty Marsh and I. Mr. Marsh is the Executive Director of The Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio (SWACO), Mayor Coleman’s first Chief of Staff, and former President and CEO of the Columbus Chamber of Commerce. 

When I look back on my experience as a former intern at the Columbus Chamber of Commerce, I realize that the skills learned and gained from that experience helped me to continue to develop both personally and professionally. Mr. Marsh has a background in public policy and government, like me. The skills learned and gained from being involved in public sector work has been easily transferrable to the nonprofit sector and performing duties at the Charitable Pharmacy of Central Ohio. Moreover, after reflecting on the insight received from both Ty Marsh and Doug Kridler in a Learning Session, it is evident that they have similar values that they have attributed to their success as leaders in the community. Mr. Kridler mentioned during a Learning Session earlier in the Fellowship that a successful nonprofit is one that is run like a business. Mr. Kridler and Mr. Marsh also both mentioned that being a reliable and good employee, along with assessing your value proposition within an organization is important. Reflecting about one’s holistic development and seeking opportunities to learn as much as possible within every experience I undertake is something I will continue to do. I appreciate having the opportunity to meet and hear words of wisdom from both Mr. Doug Kridler and Mr. Ty Marsh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

