Summertime Sadness

I cannot believe the fellowship has ended! This post is devoted to my top 3 take aways (in no particular order) of the summer.

1.) Summer Educational Programming-Coordinating the summer brain gain program was definitely one of the largest projects I have ever participated in. Working with the national organization to ensure we received solid data to evaluate the program was a valuable experience.  I am excited to receive the results and see how the students performed. This is only the second year the program has been in existence, so it will be important to examine the strengths and weaknesses of the program. Additionally, the results of the member surveys will be interesting. I cannot wait to see if any of the students changed their opinion about learning throughout the summer.

 

2.) Career Launch- The Boys and Girls Clubs has several amazing programs that they run throughout the summer and school year. However, one of my favorites

Career Launch at Huntington!

Career Launch at Huntington!

is definitely career launch. One reason I love this program is because I was able to see it have a direct impact on students in just 8 weeks! I remember at the beginning of the program when the members had no idea how to fill out a resume, let alone a cover letter. They complained about the workshops, and were extremely nervous about the mock interviews. However, after visiting Bank of America in early July they knew what to expect. The next two trips to Nationwide and Huntington were even more successful than the first visit.

3.) Professional Development- I had many great experiences this summer. The Boys and Girls Clubs of Columbus gave me every opportunity to immerse myself in the true culture of a nonprofit. I wore many hats and learned how to adapt to an environment that always changed. Having the opportunity to attend and present at the board meetings was memorable. I am excited to see their plans for the future come to fruition. In my last week I was even given the opportunity to write and research a few grants! 

The Boys and Girls Clubs spot on the mural at the Columbus Foundation!

The Boys and Girls Clubs spot on the mural at the Columbus Foundation!

Wakeopolis! Definitely one of my favorite field trips!

Wakeopolis! Definitely one of my favorite field trips!

Overall this was an amazing summer with great people in a great city!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

