Data, Data and More Data

This week I mostly worked on my own.  I dug through a lot of numbers, made some general graphs, and finally decided to do an in-depth cost analysis of Disney World flights as my starting point.  I have to individually go through a lot of the data, so it will take awhile.  Disney World makes up around 50% of our wishes every year so an in-depth analysis is worth the amount of time it will take.  I had to refresh myself on a lot of math, such a adjusting for inflation and standard deviation.

The best part of my week was when the CEO asked to chat with me for a few minutes.  It was serendipity because I was planning on going to him to talk a bit about some lobbying MAW started doing recently.  They want to start a state fund that goes towards wish granting agencies in Ohio.  I had a feeling our CEO was behind it because I know he has a background in politics.  After taking non-profit classes and learning how important it is for non-profits to not only serve, but also advocate, I have been thinking about how Make A Wish could incorporate advocacy into its cause.  This fund is a great start.  Our CEO, Doug Kelly, told me a little bit about how MAW was lobbying and the bill they’re lobbying for.  We transitioned to talking about my aspirations in the non-profit field and Doug gave me a lot of great advice.  He suggested I get my hands dirty and do some work that involves mobilizing people and doing advocacy work.  We then discussed my project a little and I updated him, then agreed to check-in every once in awhile.  I look forward to more interesting conversations with Doug and seeing if the bill that includes the wish granting fund is passed.

I hope I get to sit down and talk to some of my other co-workers throughout the summer to learn about their backgrounds and work experience.  Recently, we celebrated one of our employees reaching 10 years with MAW.  It was really inspiring and heart-warming to listen to everyone’s praise for his hard work.  It certainly takes passion for the cause to stay with one organization for ten years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

