Chapter 3: Interviews

Busy, busy, busy.  But all in a good way.

I have found myself eyes deep in the water of non-profit videography. The good news is that I know how to swim. Everything I have learned at Capital University and from my previous employers has prepared me quite well for my Fellowship.  Over the past few years I have learned how to fill the role of film producer, director, and editor; it is finally being put to good use.

I have spent the last week and a half “on the road”, traveling all around to Columbus to listen to the many voices of Habitat For Humanity MidOhio.  Whether that be a loving and hardworking family, or a group of hungry and helpful volunteers, I have gotten to know some of the most inspiring people in Columbus.

The most interesting aspect of conducting all these interviews with complete strangers is how quickly I have become friends with all of them. It becomes difficult not to feel close to someone after you sit in a chair 5 feet away from them and ask them intimate questions with extremely personal answers.  I learn who they are and how their life has been changed by this non-profit I represent. I must say, video work has never felt more rewarding or more meaningful than this current role I find myself in.  Habitat is doing “God’s Work” as one of my interviewees put it.  Another even labeled the employees and volunteers from Habitat as “Angels”, saying “they should put wings on the back of their shirts”. Wow.  I have worked on lots of videos for clients before but never have I been labeled an angel.

You would assume that with all these compliments being thrown their way, all of the Habitat employees would smile and kick their feet up for a second to bask in their holiness.  However, this non-profit is filled with the type of people who will never be satisfied with the work they have done because there is always work left to do.  Habitat’s mission statement is as follow, “A world where everyone has a decent place to live. Seeking to put God’s love into action, Habitat for Humanity brings people together to build homes, communities and hope.”  Making sure everyone in the world has a decent place to live is a lofty goal that many hope one day to achieve, but I can say with confidence that there is no one better to lead this mission than Habitat For Humanity.  Bravo.

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 12.30.12 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 12.31.06 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 12.32.14 PM

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

