Presidents and Popsicles

What an awesome week and it’s not over yet!

Wednesday was probably one of my favorite days of the summer. We started off with a learning session at the Foundation. I always look forward to learning sessions because it’s a great time to reconnect with the other fellows and hear how their work is coming along. This week we had the distinct pleasure of hearing from Doug Kridler, the President and CEO of the Columbus Foundation. It was such a treat to hear about his life experience and his insight. I could tell from the short time we were able to spend with Doug that he is passionate about his work and passionate about people. He is committed to making Columbus a great place for all people to live and I think that makes him incredibly well-suited for the position he is in. After hearing from Doug, Jason Moore from Fulcrum Creatives came in and spoke about the significance of crafting your brand in a non-profit business. Branding is a challenge for all companies, but especially companies just starting out with their brand or trying to re-brand their organization. Jason offered a lot of valuable information about how companies can craft an effective brand (and it’s way more than just a hip logo). I was then able to share this information with my host site and I think it will improve the way we all think about Per Scholas.

After the learning session, fellow Bryn Webster and her host site invited us over for a delicious meal and a tour of ECDI. It was awesome. Shout out to En Place and J’s Pops because their food is delicious. I was just blown away by all that ECDI is doing, and doing well. The place is definitely one you should know about. One of the best parts of this summer has been the inside look at other non-profits in Columbus. From the chance to see Actor’s Theatre of Columbus perform in Schiller Park to an invitation to tour the Pizzuti Collection to the backstage pass of ECDI, I am getting to see a side of Columbus that I’ve never seen before.

Continually I am reminded of what a stellar opportunity I have been given through this fellowship and Wednesday was most definitely one of those days.

About ashley.mcintosh

I'm 22. I'm a recent grad of Mount Vernon Nazarene University. Likes include Honey Nut Cheerios, elephants, and new book smell. Dislikes include spiders, soggy french fries, and high heels. I'm trying to live out a Kingdom ethic while still learning what that looks like. I like to write, but I hate to share, so this ought to be interesting. Let's see if anything comes of it. Thanks for stopping by. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

