The SON is rising!

Hello! My name is AnnMarie Graham, I am a senior at The Ohio State University studying Public Affairs and International Studies, and much like a sunrise, my time as a Fundraising and Development Intern for Serving Our Neighbors Ministries is just beginning!

Serving Our Neighbors (SON) Ministries works “to build our Hilliard community while offering a hand up (not a hand out) to families facing the unique challenges of poverty.” In order to achieve this goal, the nonprofit hosts several initiatives, ranging from a free legal clinic to the Hilliard Free Summer Lunch Camp to a Family English as a Second Language (ESL) program. The Family ESL program has already had a profound impact on me and has made me extremely proud to be part of this organization. Serving 126 adults and their children from 22 different countries, it is the literal definition of organized chaos, but chaos that is producing a tangible effect in the Hilliard community. Despite the already impressive magnitude of the program, there is still an extensive waitlist. That’s where I come in.

Working with the Development and Communications Associate, as well as the CEO and founder, I am providing fundraising and development support for the organization. My main responsibility is working in conjunction with the Stewardship Committee to plan and execute the Open Your Heart Gala that will be taking place in April. Other tasks include assisting with the creation of communications materials and interactions with partners.

Every day I leave the office feeling extremely content and fulfilled; I am so appreciative of the chance to be creative and help make an impact within my community. Already, I have learned so much from a truly extraordinary team, and it’s only been a month! I cannot wait to see what the next five have in store.

“For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Galatians 5:14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

