If it’s gonna be, it’s up to me

Hello!

My name is Arielle Johnson. I am senior at Capital University studying Sociology with minors in Philosophy and Ethnic Studies. I am currently completing my fellowship at the Charitable Pharmacy of Central Ohio. The Charitable Pharmacy seeks to provide affordable and appropriate pharmaceutical services to the most vulnerable in our community. My time as a Sociology major has inspired my passion about social issues that affect so many within our communities. This fellowship has provided me with the opportunity to work closely with an organization that seeks to provide relief to an important issue within our community.

As a fellow, I am working within the Development department. One of the many tasks I am working on is social media outreach. Social media has become a platform that provides immense opportunities for fundraising and outreach. I am capable of keeping all followers up to date on what is new at the pharmacy, as well as highlighting those who are very important to the pharmacy, such as the volunteers and staff. Coming up with new and creative ways that catches people’s eye has made me reflect on my own social media experience. Through this work I have been able to provide content that is important to the Charitable Pharmacy and those who support it, as well as understand the important place social media has within development and fundraising.

This experience at a small up-and-coming non-profit has given me an insight to all of the work and passion that is needed to be able to give patients what they need. I have been able to interview staff members about why they serve their communities and they tell me they have a duty as a community to help those who are in need. One woman, a staff member wrote to me, “if it’s gonna be, it’s up to me.” She said that this attitude enhances our community and our world. Not only does this make me proud to be a part of an organization like the Charitable Pharmacy, but also continues to fuel my passion about social issues.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

