Grand Opening

Last Thursday, April 21st, Local Matters held it’s official grand opening, welcoming, friends, supporters, and press into our new office space. Over 100 people attended and squeezed into our office, community kitchen, and conference rooms to see the space, see examples of classes being taught in the culinary classroom, and taste yummy food from cooking demos. Much preparation went into this event, and seeing the hard work of the entire staff was inspiring and insightful to what a career in this field would look like. I spent most of my time organizing nametags for the event, constantly refreshing the Eventbrite page as new people RSVP’d just hours before. Even during the event I had to sneak away to a neighboring office to print more because we ran out of extra blank name tags!

You can see a little more about our grand opening event and the new office in our Business First article! http://www.bizjournals.com/columbus/news/2016/04/22/photos-local-matters-and-its-community-kitchen-now.html

With just this last week at Local Matters, I’ll be trying my hand at actual grant writing. I’m grateful that the staff is trusting with me this endeavor (obviously they’ll still be proof reading it), because I know it is a valuable skill in the nonprofit world.

Finally, I have had such a wonderful time here at Local Matters, and feel so fortunate to have landed here for my fellowship. The staff is kind, welcoming, and supportive, especially the development and communications team, Kerry and Amanda. They have helped me tremendously as I navigate trying new things and learning more about the organization and field in general. Thank you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

