The not-so-lazy days of summer

As I wrap up my second week down at Southpoint, I’m appreciating how fast the summer is going to fly by! I’m working as fast as I can to put together some cool programming for the teens as myself and the other staff members start setting the schedule for the summer.

Last Tuesday I was able to visit the Urban Arts Space, an art gallery and non-traditional performance space located downtown in the Lazarus Building. I knew that at some point this summer I wanted the teens to experience visual arts, but didn’t want to just take them to a gallery and have them passively take a tour. I wanted them to be engaged and see how art can play a role in their life, whether they pursue an arts related vocation or not. Through some expert googling tactics I stumbled on the website for the Urban Arts Space, and was thrilled to find out they offer hands on programming for youth. I met with education team, who were all very excited at the prospect of creating something for teenagers, as they have previously worked primarily with younger kids. We decided to do two programs with the teens over the summer, one in July and one in early August. I left our meeting inspired by their ideas, and thinking about how the teens might be able to work with the Urban Arts Space past our time in the summer.

FullSizeRender (1)

Over the weekend I did this activity with the kids – marbling by using shaving cream. It was fun, and incredibly messy.

I’m also working on putting together a summer fitness series for teens and their parents down at Southpoint. The RPAC at Ohio State offers a training program for students to become group fitness instructors. I reached out to their program coordinator to see if some students might be willing to volunteer to teach a class down at Southpoint. Three instructors reached out to me and we have worked out dates for some yoga, pilates and strength classes through July.

I’m excited about everything that’s in the works, and nervous about how it will be received by the teens. It’s been really fun having the freedom to design things on my own. Can’t wait to see what the rest of the summer has in store.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

