Early Goodbyes

Sadly, my supervisor for the last nine weeks will be on vacation for my last week. Fortunately, we had an early celebration of my time here at the Ohio History Connection. We were planning on going to the Columbus Commons for a concert to celebrate with everyone. However, the rain got in the way of our plans, but we didn’t let that stop us. Instead, we went to Arch City in the Short North. It was a nice way to end the day after facilitating History to Go in the afternoon. Not only was it lovely to be able to catch up with everyone in an informal setting, but the hummus plate was tasty. I may or may not have a thing for hummus plates.

Arch City2

A few of my co-workers

A few hours ago, I also had my final meeting with my supervisor about my work this summer. It’s so rewarding to know that my work is appreciated and that its impact will continue on into the future. The Ohio History Connection has as one of its core values “inclusivity- appealing to all Ohioans, especially underserved audiences.” I know that the work that I did tied directly into this goal.

My supervisor also happens to have a gluten allergy. So, that means she often has to miss out on the dessert and other goodies people bring into the office. Since it’s the final day we would be working together, I thought it would be nice to get her some gluten-free desserts. Before work this morning I drove to Cherbourg Bakery in order to get some yummy gluten-free treats for her.

Desserts for SohaylaJPG

Well, once again, it seems like food has made it into my blog post. However, I’m not sure I’d have it any other way. Getting desserts for someone so sweet, just felt right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

