Hello Everyone

Hi all! My name is Keely Buckley and I am the Columbus Foundation’s Fellow at Equitas Health (formerly AIDS Resource Center Ohio). I will working with their Development team on creating a new initiative for their annual AIDS Walk. This AIDS walk will take place in April and will be one of the biggest fundraisers for the organization.

Currently I am a senior attending The Ohio State University here in Columbus. I am a Psychology major with minors in Nonprofit Studies and History. I would love to pursue a career in the nonprofit field, hopefully in development or community engagement. In my free time I like to stay involved on campus. I am a part of Buckeyes for Life (raise awareness about organ and tissue donation), Gift of Life (campus ambassador for a bone marrow donor registry), Association of Fundraising Professionals, and Alpha Chi Omega. I stay pretty busy but I figure as long as it is all stuff that I enjoy doing, I will not regret it!

I am so excited to work with Equitas during this fellowship. They have recently changed names from AIDS Resource Center Ohio to Equitas Health to better encompass their focus on total health care. HIV/AIDS is not a death sentence anymore and the work that Equitas has done in the past and continues to do is a big reason why. They work primarily with the LGBTQ communities to give HIV/STI prevention materials, primary and specialized care, behavioral health, advocacy work and community initiatives.

The project I will be working on for this fellowship is a new initiative they want to add to the AIDS Walk. We will be adding in honor of/in remembrance of signs along the sides of the AIDS Walk for all three that happen in April (Central Columbus, Dayton, and Toledo) as well as trying to incorporate the name change of the walk for next year from AIDS Walk to A Future without HIV. I am very excited to be working on this project as it will give me a better sense of fundraising, development, and marketing/communications and how those all must work seamlessly together to create an effective project.

If you want to learn more about Equitas or the AIDS Walk please visit their website: http://equitashealth.com/

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

