Week Two

Greetings! My second week at the Hoover YMCA Park has flown by and I feel like I’m really in the swing of things as it comes to close. I’ll just share a few of the highlights from this week.

I was able to help out with a field day organized for Enchanted Care camp kids at the park. It was great to be outside and active, and several other YMCA employees came out to assist with the kids. I enjoyed getting to meet them and hear about their experiences at different branches of the Y. Early in the morning, during the setup, we encountered a huge rat snake (we think) in the middle of one of the pathways. We were concerned about having kids in the area with a snake nearby, but luckily our resident snake whisperer, Kevin, was around to coax it into the woods and to safety.

On Thursday we had about 30 volunteers come out to the garden and I got my first experience with volunteer coordination. This mostly involves helping to check people in, documenting their work in the garden, and keeping track of their hours via the Mid-Ohio Foodbank’s Volunteer Hub. The Volunteer Hub is an amazing resource for nonprofits working within their network, so I’ve been familiarizing myself with all of its functions and tools as well as keeping track of new volunteer sign ups.

I’m in the beginning stages of planning a fundraiser for the Learning Garden involving the soon to be finished kitchen space in the Hoover Haven, a cabin structure near the greenhouse. The renovation is scheduled to be done by the end of June and the product will be a great community space for bringing the produce from the garden to meals on a table. I’m hoping to bring a local chef out to Hoover to give a cooking demonstration to participants who will also get to tour the garden. Below are a few photos of the Hoover Haven in its current state. I’ll be posting photos of the progress on our social media and in our weekly newsletter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

