Week Six: In the heat of it!

With another week at the pantry flying by, I started to realize how easy it is to get stuck in ruts when work becomes repetitive and familiar. The initial excitement of a new environment, new coworkers, and meeting new neighbors has worn off for the most part, which is not a bad thing! It means that I’m becoming part of the team and the family! However, a lot of this week I’ve had times where I’ve needed to reevaluate the tasks at hand and remind myself that the not-so-exciting work is also valuable and exciting in its own way! Being mindful of how I’m spending my time has proved so valuable to me in accomplishing tasks and I highly suggest everyone to incorporate this into their work day. ALSO the absurd amount rain we had this week made for a very mellow-feeling week 6!

Along with not being new anymore comes being heavily involved with big-time responsibilities which was apart of this week that I absolutely LOVED. As you can see in the photo for this week, my desk has been consumed by my process of writing a letter of intent for a grant the Worthington Resource Pantry is applying for. Usually regarded as a boring process, writing this LOI has been so fun for me because I get to put into words the impact this pantry has on the community and the growth we are expecting within the next year- which is A LOT. To continue, a definite high of my work week has been the Entertainment Committee meeting for our annual fundraising which was Wednesday night at House Wine in Worthington. This meeting involved, yes you guessed it, WINE!!! Our entertainment committee is becoming more and more organized for our fundraiser in September, with this meeting involving catching every member up on the statuses of our raffle packages, venue setup, parking logistics, etc. The event planning aspect of my fellowship has been such a fun part of the experience and is quickly becoming something that I could see myself incorporating into my future work! (YAY for possible future plans!)

Before I leave you for the week, I’d like to make a quick shoutout to my coworkers at WRP who are simply the BEST. Every Thursday morning we have an all-staff “Coffee Talk” meeting and every week it is so much fun to catch up with everyone and share updates. They make anything that has potential to be so boring SO fun- I’m going to be extremely sad to have to leave them in just a few weeks!

 

Until next week,

Natalie

 

 

About nataliegilbertblog

Currently a full-time Summer Fellow at the Worthington Resource Pantry with The Columbus Foundation, continually pursuing opportunities to achieve health access and equity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

