Farewell Godman Guild

Hello Everyone!

          This is the start of our last week with our host organizations. As our time is wrapping up, I can’t help but reflect on all of the opportunities I’ve had this summer. Since that list of opportunities is too long to fit into one post, I’ll take this blog entry to bid my farewell to Godman Guild.

          In case some of you guys forgot, I have been working with the Godman Guild all summer throughout my fellowship with Green Columbus. Helping out with their summer employment KEYS program, I have been working with 14 – 15 year olds all summer on environmental education. This Wednesday will be my last day working with the program, and we are taking a trip to AEP to learn about their environmental initiatives in the corporate energy sector.

          I wanted to take the time on this post to thank the Godman Guild for letting me collaborate with them this summer. While at times the program was a little rocky, I hope the teens in the program learned as much from me as I did from them. The past ten weeks have opened my eyes to the social structure of Columbus, and the Columbus community outside of Ohio State.

          For the first time in my life, I was treated as a professional adult this summer. I was able to sit in on meetings, interview candidates for the program, and provide insight when problem solving. I am truly appreciative of the opportunities that Godman Guild has provided for me. I wish the best of luck to all of the 14 – 15 year olds in KEYS program moving forward, I know you guys will do great things in life!

                                                                                               Until next time,

                                                                                                          Jake

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

