Transition

If there is one thing I have learned from this summer, it is that nothing in this life is constant. I am currently in a season of all of my college comforts (swimming, apartment, roommates, classes, Insomnia cookies right around the corner) being phased out of my life and being replaced with the newness of adult life (9-5 work hours, rush hour traffic, and not having to have papers, exams, and projects linger in my mind etc.). Although difficult at times, the transition from college is also exciting as it brings new challenges and triumphs.  I am so thankful that I have a network of people who are either currently going through the same transition or have been here and remember what it is like. My coworkers have been amazing at not only supporting my current projects at work, but my life in general as I look forward to the next chapter. There is truly no where else I would rather have spent my summer of transition than at the Grange Insurance Audubon Center.

I have had a blast planting and tending to the herbs in the vertical garden, which is why it broke my heart when we discovered the soil was sinking and the landscaping fabric on the back of the palette was sagging. The only solution to this was to uproot the herbs and take out the horizontal planks so that we could dump the soil, rip out the landscaping fabric from the outside of the palette and put it on the inside. Sounds painless, right? Wrong.  Besides the emotional attachment I had made with the herbs, pruning and petting them, it was also a physical endeavor ripping and stapling and manipulating the fabric to fit the inside of the palette on one of the most humid days of summer. It was certainly not as easy as 1,2,3, as Pinterest led me to believe, but by the end we had a much more structurally sound, comfy home for my precious herbs.

 

 

IMG_7741The above vertical garden is brought to you by countless Pinterest tutorials (some great, some not so great), help from Master Gardener Lori Overmeyer, Strader’s Garden Center, superstar volunteer Anne, and my awesome supervisor Michael!

If you want to learn how to make your own vertical garden, come to the Grange Insurance Audubon Center this Wednesday at 6:30pm, there will be dried herbs for the taking!

Tori

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

