Week 10: thank you

That’s all folks. I want to dedicate this blog post to reflection and gratitude. This opportunity came out of the blue for me. I was not even aware that the fellowship program existed, or even the Columbus Foundation for that matter, when I received an email mid January asking me to apply. I remember opening the email as I sat next to my boss at Mills James, whoops, and then immediately asking her about the possibility of me taking time off if I was accepted. She said yes. I applied. I was selected. Here I am and now it’s over.

Next week, I will go back to my job at Mills James. A week and a half later, I will go back to school for the last time. While I am excited for what is ahead, I am very thankful for what I am leaving behind. DSC has taught me many things, which I hope to elaborate on during the Friday luncheon. This fellowship has given me more hands-on professional experience than I could have hoped for. I am thankful.

I made a list of accomplishments. I hope I never forget the value of this experience.

  • Selected/researched marketing firms
  • Wrote/sent Request for Proposal (RFP) to prospective firms
  • Conducted CRM research
  • Co-edited “Case for Support” doc
  • Copy-edited DSC website content
  • Sent thank you letters to sponsors and donors
  • Created excel spreadsheet of Ohio Civic Group’s contact info
  • Contacted Civic Groups inquiring speaking opportunities
  • Created a price comparison chart for bidding marketing firms
  • Drafted questions for marketing firms
  • Collected/contacted references for marketing firms
  • Shadowed interpreting department, early intervention, and summer work youth experience
  • Collected/documented impact stories from DSC employees
  • Created spreadsheets of best porspect foundations for DSC’s needs: Deaf giving, Early Intervention, OYO Camp, and Building Campaign
  • Created/presented Pecha Kucha on experience (almost)
  • Drafted a vocab list for ASL 2 classes
  • Completed 10 blog posts on experience
  • Drafted/completed evaluation conducted by supervisor, Amy Bullard (per fellow fellow’s recommendation)

 

Thank you DSC. Thank you Columbus Foundation. Thank you Fellows.

Karlee H.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

