The blog I never thought would come…

The last one.

I’ve been actively reflecting all summer, and so I don’t have any new and revolutionary insights for you all. I’ve primarily been thinking a lot about how grateful I am to have had the experience that I did.

Over the course of the next month, I will most likely be asked a minimum of 50 times “how was your summer?” or “how did that internship go?” and I am so incredibly proud to have so many wonderful things to share. The answer to those questions is a resounding “So great. Too short, but so so great”. Even as I am typing this on the morning of my last day, the time seems to be moving way faster than normal.

file.jpeg

Lucy, Office Manager.  Representing how I feel about my last day

I am so glad that I am able to share how much I have grown and how many things I was able to learn and experience in 10 short weeks.

I have worked on HR, drafting an employee handbook in my firstweek at Besa. And also being around conversations surrounding onboarding procedures and what it looks like to create a job posting on a small-yet-rapidly-growing team.

I have learned about corporate/nonprofit relationships and seen the types of things that companies want when they receive a service. I have worked through what it looks like to manage a client and how the entire lifecycle of a customer should look, including all of the steps along the way.

I’ve been introduced to the world of fundraising or “development” as they call it. Learning the unique nuances of donor retention and how complicated funding can be when you have both donations and corporate income to account for. I’ve even been exposed to strategies used by nonprofits of all sizes through listening and participating in AFP (Association of Fundraising Professionals) meetings.

file1.jpeg

Myself, Matthew, Monica Day, and the incredible Ronald McDonald House crew

I learned a whole bunch about data and organization and all of the ways it can be used. From participating in the synthesis of our qualitative research study data to creating an internal database system.

I got to dig into technology and explore my own potential through learning, empowerment, and very kind people helping me along the way.

And of course, I have met SO MANY AMAZING PEOPLE.

One of the best things about being at Besa is that not only is the office full of amazing people, but all of our partners are doing such incredible work, changing lives in the community – every. single. day.

It wouldn’t be a monumental life experience without me learning about myself. I’ve learned how I work in an office, and how I function on a typical 9-5 schedule. I’ve learned that personality traits like curiosity and industriousness are more prominent in myself than I thought. I’ve been empowered to be able to identify and communicate my value and to be confident in my ability to contribute.

During my first week, Besa CEO, Matthew, acknowledged and thanked me for saying many nice things about Besa and how excited I was to be here – but then challenged me to think critically about the organization as well. I had been engaging in both of these and used my critical lens to fuel my work while I was here. But even after opening up my mind to think critically about this organization – I am confident that it is changing the community and transforming lives every day. I am so proud to be a part of this team.

Addendum

I should mention that closure is not really my thing. I’m a big fan of a slow fade. And also I couldn’t up and leave abruptly if I tried. I am looking forward to continuing to engage with Besa by supporting their Annual Fundraiser and Adopt a Senior program, and of course, I will stay in touch.

Also, you could come hang out at our fundraiser too and see what the hype is all about.

OR get out in the community and volunteer… September projects will be live soon at http://www.givebesa.org/volunteer.

file2.jpeg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment